Struggling with marketing myself

i miss when the internet was more anonymous, the peak years for me were from 2006-2013. after this, I cannot recall enjoying the internet as much, as social media was expanding and invading the internet. also I graduated high school around this time and had to enter the workforce, which sucked my soul of all its humanity and energy.

I’m reminded of this when I’m asked to upload a photo of myself. i could do that, sure. but I don’t want to. for two reasons. first, in those perfect years of the anonymous internet (or maybe just the glory days of livejournal and early-days tumblr), i’d only show my face to internet friends after we’d built trust and friendship. i still think this is an ideal way. second, to this day I don’t understand why I look different (amazing, ethereal) in the mirror and so strange (hideous, off-putting) in my camera. i can’t handle this disconnect. anyone agree?

anyway, in interviews… when I’m asked a question, my mind literally goes blank. my mouth can’t articulate words anymore. what’s this phenomena? it presents itself in non-stressful situations too and its so aggravating.
i cannot stay on topic and my mind jumps all around the time. they ask you what you would do in a hypothetical situation, and all I can think of are the small details that are not even the point of the question.

it would be so cool to get a job without doing the interview, right?