On Recent Loss and a Good Book

The first time I read Sigrid Nunez’s The Friend, I was in my final literature class for college. I say that like it was a long time ago, even though it must have been in March, maybe late February? I think March. I’m a class of 2020 graduate, which of course kind of sucks. There are things that suck more.

(Have you ever thought about how inapproapriate the connotations of “sucks” or “suck” are? Eep.)

My mom died less than two weeks ago. I bought my mom a copy of The Friend sometime in April or May as a Mother’s Day gift or early Mother’s Day gift. With everything she’d gone through during her life (everything we’d gone through, loss/death wise), I thought that the book would be a good, helpful read for her. Nunez’s book is metafiction, as in it’s not just fiction or one genre of fiction. Metafiction can, as I remember my professor saying, bridge genres and pass between walls as thick as the one separating fiction and nonfiction. The book reflects Nunez’s experience of loss over a year. Her friend died unexpectedly (again, as I remember, and it’s been a while), and he was a friend, colleague, and past teacher she was in love with. He was married, and his wife, not long after his passing, asked the narrator/Nunez to become the new owner of his dog. The narrator/Nunes comes to see the dog as her friend, or an extension of her friend. Maybe even as an extension of her friend’s life and their time together. There are many introspective tangents in the book, and literary references, and realizations Nunez subtlety explores.

I originally loved the book because I realized I would be a lot like the narrator if the guy I’ve been talking to for over two years now (older, sometimes a teacher in a way, but very guy-ish, and a respectable ladies man, like the lost friend) suddenly dropped dead, what with all the things we’ve never talked about. Now, after losing my mom, I feel a newfound appreciation for Nunez’s metafiction.