How do I get out of retail management

Hello talktime community. I would love to start a discussion about how to transition out of retail management. I have worked in retail my whole career and do not have a bachelor’s degree. I am the sole provider of my family of 5. I have many skills that range from the creative side to business organization. If anyone in this community has experience and success with getting out of retail, I would love to hear about it.

1 Like

Yolo

First of all i have no experience or success

Second of all from what i can understand is you want to quit retail management
And find other jobs that you do best of

Well i reccomend pick the ones which you do really good job at and then find those jobs on websites and also in talktimers (post a post about jobs you do best of) etc

Hope i helps and sorry if i get this wrong

1 Like

Sometimes a degree doesn’t matter as much, just as long as you know how to do your job.
You have had the same job for 5 years, maybe right now you don’t notice all the skills that you learned.
I recommend to do a list about the skills that you have and in which job you could use them.
After that you should focus on your career plan and star working towards it, otherwise you’ll get stuck again.
Regaling the courage to do what you want to do and what will make you happy. You can do this.

3 Likes

In many cases, your management experience can be substituted for degrees. Just because a posting states a bachelor’s degree is preferred doesn’t mean they wont take your experience into consideration. What industries have you been thinking about?

2 Likes

Hi Heidi. I have been thinking about Project Management/ Coordinater. Being in Retail gives you a multitude of skills but the most transferable to other jobs is communication and being solution based under pressure.

4 Likes